epcsbulletin



ePCS Spring 2021

Wool Classer Re-registration is about to commence

AWEX will be inviting all currently registered wool classers to renew their registration for the 2022-24 triennium. Re-Registration will open on **mid October** 2021 through to December 2021. Wool Classers will be contacted initially by email which provide an opportunity for classers to complete their registration in a paperless format.

Wool Classer Auction Activity has moved to WoolClip

Wool Classers are now able to view their Auction Activity and respond to Clip Inspections through the WoolClip website. This function was previously available through the wool classer portal (which is no longer available). Wool Classers can also update their contact details and contact the Registrar. For your login details please contact the Wool Classer Registrar. Scan QR to email or e:registrar@awex.com.au





Buyer Feedback: Classing and Vegetable Matter Type

Whilst not common, AWEX and buyers occasionally see lines of wool at auction containing mixed, or incompatible vegetable matter types.

This can occur when either:

- A mob has been split since last shearing, run on different country, and are then shorn together, or
- Lines are built using wool from more than one mob (which have run on different country).

For example, wool containing significant quantities of Noogoora Burr should be kept separate from other VM types, or otherwise free wool.

Noogoora Burr can cause problems during the carding process due its size and hardness. Noogoora Burr are difficult to carbonise and crush; and can also block and damage card teeth. Residual VM particles can remain in the product causing an issue for yarn makers.



Follow industry updates on Facebook and twitter www.facebook.com/woolexchange



epcsbulletin



National Graduate Wool Classer Competition

The AWEX / TAFE NSW National Graduate Wool Classer competition is a showcase for wool classing, training, and the wool industry, and has proven to be a popular event on the Sydney Royal Agricultural Show programme. Unfortunately, this competition was cancelled for the 2019/2020 graduates due to COVID-19 restrictions.

These graduates were nominated by their RTO Trainers for their achievements and dedication to their wool classing studies. Congratulations to the following Graduate Wool Classers.

2019

Katie Atherton TAFE NSW Kristen Hegarty TAFE NSW Artie Wright TAFE NSW Joseph Kingston TAFE NSW Sophie Tongue TAFE NSW Emma Smith TAFE NSW Skye Edmonds RIST VIC Nicole Ritchie SCAA VIC Jacob Rhen SCAA SA Sharon Stewart TAS TAFE Lisa Shalders SWTAFE WA

Wool Classer Polo Shirts

100% Merino Wool. In stock now and at a *special price* of only \$44 (includes postage).

To order: T. (02) 9428 6144 or E. <u>woolclasser@awex.com.au</u>



2020

Sydney Tremain TAFE NSW Felicity McLeod TAFE NSW Kristen Frederickson TAFE NSW Sinead Cameron TAFE NSW Maddison Gough TAFE NSW Megan Cooper RIST VIC Jennifer Sheriff SCAA VIC Allison Henderson SCAA SA Emma Ebbelaar TAS TAFE Shelby Atherton SWTAFE WA Amy Pratt Wodonga TAFE VIC



epcsbulletin



Honour Roll 50 years - Class of 1971

AW	Raymond	Baines	Gunning NSW	AW	Barry	Ackland	Orroroo SA
AW	Christopher	Bibby	Navarre VIC	AW	James	Anderson	Bungal VIC
W	Warren	Bruce	Bombala NSW	AW	Ross	Bayliss	Wellington NSW
W	Robert	Campbell	Clunes VIC	AW	John	Bennett	Barooga NSW
W	Allan	Chambers	Orielton TAS	AW	Peter	Brookman	Keith SA
W	Noel	Cocking	Loddon Vale VIC	AW	Robert	Charles	Winchelsea VIC
W	Garry	Evans	Gulgong NSW	AW	William	Cook	Minlaton SA
W	Michael	Farrell	Boorowa NSW	AW	Gilbert	Davidson	Newstead TAS
W	David	Gibbins	Wentworth NSW	AW	John	Ferrier	Birchip NSW
W	Dennis	Hambrook	Young NSW	AW	lan	Filbey	Goornong VIC
W	James	Harris	Balranald NSW	AW	David	Fry	Geraldton WA
W	Christopher	Heyward	Koonya TAS	AW	Ross	Furner	Coolamon NSW
W	Peter	Higgs	Parrearra QLD	AW	Anthony	Gross	Condobolin NSW
W	Graham	Hillyer	Bombala NSW	AW	Peter	Healey	Duramana NSW
W	Robert	Humphries	Bungeet VIC	AW	lan	Holdsworth	Karramomus VIC
W	Paul	Jarick	Jindera NSW	AW	Murray	James	Glenrowan VIC
W	Graham	Jenke	Strathalbyn SA	AW	Paul	Jeffries	Mount Alfred VIC
W	Ernie	Knight	Dookie VIC	OC	Peter	Knox	Bombala NSW
W	Peter	Laird	Meckering WA	CA	Clifford	Lucas	Portland VIC
W	Barry	Lewis	Corowa NSW	AW	Colin	McCauley	Moorngag VIC
W	Warren	Long	Wagga Wagga NSW	AW	Neville	McGee	Cressy TAS
W	Phillip	Lynch	Binda NSW	AW	Peter	McGennisken	Brimpaen VIC
W	Dennis	Mackrell	Kelvin View	AW	Max	Mewburn	Tomingley NSW
W	Robert	McCarthy	Dubbo NSW	AW	John	Northcott	Merino VIC
W	Norman	McKenzie	Cumnock NSW	AW	Rodney	Parker	Bannockburn VIC
W	Peter	Murphy	Manildra NSW	AW	Henry	Pearce	Bathurst NSW
W	Bryant	Murray	Meandarra QLD	AW	Robert	Plush	Coleraine VIC
W	Trevor	Nase	Clunes VIC	AW	Kenneth	Pollard	Naracoorte SA
W	Richard	Nixon	Oaklands TAS	AW	Stuart	Reid	Cooma NSW
W	Paul	Preuss	Yorketown SA	AW	Peter	Rentsch	Penshurst VIC
W	Kenneth	Rees	Penshurst VIC	AW	Brian	Ritchie	Tatong VIC
W	Richard	Riggs	Burra SA	AW	John	Roberson	Ascot QLD
W	Neil	Rizzoli	Cape Clear VIC	AW	Bernard	Sheridan	Arthurville NSW
W	Kim	Saltmarsh	Launceston TAS	AW	Donald	Simpson	Nyngan NSW
W	Kenneth	Saunders	Narrogin WA	AW	Peter	Sudholz	Horsham VIC
W	lan	Shawcross	St Albans Park VIC	AW	Tim	Sudholz	Natimuk VIC
W	Graham	Southwell	Rye Park NSW	AW	John	Teasdale	Boree Creek NSW
W	Darryl	Stone	Yankalilla SA	AW	Paul	Wright	Glencoe NSW
W	Alan	Waters	Tumbarumba NSW	AW	Neil	Wykes	Beckom NSW
W	John	Waters	Mt Gambier SA	СА	Patrick	Lonergan	Tangambalanga VIC
W	Maurice	Welsh	Glenrowan West VIC	СА	John	Van Den Nieuwenhof	Mona Vale NSW
W	Timothy	Whitty	Darbys Falls NSW	-			
/IC	Peter	Stoll	Wagga Wagga NSW				
AC	Bruce	Baker	Mirrool NSW				

Congratulations to all of our 50 Year Wool Classers for your continued commitment and valued contribution to the Australian wool industry